Wednesday, March 3, 2021

Happy, happy, joy, joy!!


February was an interesting month, at least in this part of the country. That is my excuse for not posting last month. It started warm, then the ground hog saw his shadow. (The joke I heard is that Phil is in witness protection now!) The Arctic blast that hit the middle of the country and hung on for more than two weeks was felt as far south as northern Mexico. Some people are still recovering. 

We were very lucky here in Oklahoma. While it was at or below freezing for about two weeks, we never lost our furnace or electricity. Water was left running the entire time, and even though a local main went out near the end, we never had frozen pipes. Not everyone was that lucky. We were blessed. (I will feel that way until the water and gas bills show up in our mailbox!)  



 While seven or eight inches is a lot here, the cold was the main factor in most people's misery.

Now with the weather report done, I am happy about other things! 

My husband and I were able to get our Covid vaccinations the first of this year. I know some are leary, but having had relatives and friends fighting the effects of the virus, a few unsuccessfully, I was ready to stand in a very long line for this shot. I have had almost no side-effects from it and I feel much safer. 

The other part of the happiness report is that I was offered a contract on a new novel. I don't have a publication date, but the publisher has already done the cover. It is absolutely incredible. I will make you wait a little bit on that!

 Okay, you talked me into it!

The novel is titled Crossroads to the Stars. It is an adult novel, could possibly be considered new adult science fiction, much in the tradition of Robert Heinlein, Andre Norton, Clifford Simak and the other old sci fi masters. The main character is Kendra Manning, the leader of the newly formed space exploration service. The adventure really begins when an abandoned alien base is discovered on the moon. There are technological wonders galore, but will they lead to adventure or death?

Another bit of joy is the progress of Billy Bob Flybottom. My publisher tells me that the cover art is almost complete, along with extra illustrations to go along with the extra chapters I wrote. The book will soon be ready for printing of the ARC (advanced review copies). Again, I will show off the cover later. (I don't have it yet.)

This is the part of writing that does make me happy; knowing that one of my babies is ready to be born. I have a prequel to Realms of the Cat almost ready to go to the publisher. I have a sequel to Moon Crusher ready to go to a critique group. Happy, happy, joy, joy! 

I realize there are other parts to this business that I have to learn, but as I do, that will raise my happiness level, too. 

What makes you happy--really joyful? 

Let me know....

Friday, January 8, 2021

 Happy New Year!!!  


(Using hubby's Christmas gag gift to say farewell to 2020. "Take that, 2020!")


It has started with a bang, but despite what we have inherited from 2020, there is great hope for this year. At least for me. I am so very optimistic that this year will be a wonderful year. Is it because it will be easier than last year? No.  Will it be better because the road is smooth? No, the road is extremely bumpy, as seen from events this week (1/6). 

I think it will be a wonderful year because I am determined for it to be a wonderful year. I am determined to be grateful, I am determined to be successful. I am determined to feel joy. In other words, it's inside of me. My attitudes, my goals, my outlook is up to me. If I decide everything is gloomy, it will be. If I find pleasure in a beautiful sunset on a really cold and gloomy day, I will be happy.   

Fun in the snow on New Year's day!


I know this sounds Pollyanna, but it's really true. Let's be grateful, let's be forgiving, let's be giving. Let's be kinder. Let's wait a moment before venting our anger and think about what our actions might do to others before we strike out. Let's make this a great year!!  

If these two can get along.... (Zorro, recently fixed, and Scamp)